19 Goals for 19

I planned on posting this on my birthday (April 13), but sometimes life gets in the way. Especially when it comes to college life! But, here it is. Better late than never! I just turned 19, and I’m hoping to make this year better than the last. So for this upcoming year in my life, I’ve made a list of goals. Some are single tasks that can be completed, and others are things that I will strive to uphold on a daily basis. 

1. Get a Puppy or Dog from the Shelter!

Adopting a dog is one of the things I really want, and have wanted for awhile. While it’s tempting to go out and buy a puppy from the pet stores, the breeding and selling industry is awful and supporting it is something I cannot make myself do. I do think all of those babies deserve homes, though. As long as they’ve already been bred and are alive, why leave them there on their own and in those conditions? Personally, I’m going with adoption, though.

2. No Babies

My mom got pregnant with my sister at 19, and I want better than the life I had for my children. I want to wait until I know I’m ready, and then plan to bring a child into this world. That’s nothing against all of the wonderful young mothers out there, I think what they are doing is amazing and they are fully capable of caring for their family. I just have my own goals to achieve before I am responsible for another  human being.

3. Focus More on Grades

To be able to stay in college, I have to keep my scholarship. Keeping my GPA up to that standard hasn’t been my main goal lately, and I need to make a conscious effort to refocus myself.

4. Be Nicer

To everyone I come across, I want to be a more pleasant person. No matter my impressions or predispositions, I want to be nice or at least cordial. I’ve always been one to hold a grudge, and I don’t want to burden myself with that any longer.

5. Catch More Fish!

Fishing is the most amazing bonding experience for my boyfriend and I, as well as an amazing way to relax. It’s one of the few things I’ve taken up and keep doing that I really just personally enjoy and want to continue doing. It teaches patience, perseverance, and is honestly just something fun for me. It’s been a learning experience, but I enjoy it more than I ever expected I would.

6. Take Control of My Anxiety

I’ve been dealing with this illness for years, but I have a habit of letting it control and define me. I want to be more than my anxiety, and bigger than it. I want to take control of it, and work on methods to calm myself down. Panic attacks were almost a daily for me about a year and a half ago, and now they are very rare, but still debilitating. I hope to be above the stigma and still function, no matter how I feel on the inside.

7. Get a Good Job

My boyfriend and I are planning on getting an apartment, and I don’t want to rely on financial aid refund money. I want to be able to feel financially stable, and take care of myself. I want to be able to pay everything on time, and keep my credit score high.

8. Eat Better

I know this is one of the few things that will make me feel better, and I need to try harder to be healthier. For my current self, as well as my future self. I am tired of making excuses, and I know I am capable of controlling my diet and myself.

9. Be More Committed to the Gym

I want to be more committed to my body in general. I love working out, it’s one of my favorite things to do, but I need to stick to my schedule no matter how badly I want to skip a work out.

10. Don’t be so Hard on Everyone

This includes myself. I’m such a perfectionist, and so controlling. I have to realize not everything is going to fit into my idea of perfection, and that it’s not that big of a deal. I have to learn to let go of small things that don’t matter.

11. Stop Buying Things I Don’t Need

I’m the WORST at spending money on things that are irrelevant to my life and completely unnecessary. I know that controlling myself is going to be better for my longterm happiness.

12. Be More Adventurous With my Wardrobe

I’ve always shoved myself into a leggings and T-shirt kind of box. I want to branch out and be more expressive of myself. I have to let go of my social anxiety and fear of change and just authentically be myself and dress how I  please.

13. Express My Feelings Better

Honesty and communication are things that I value greatly and I believe are important to any friendship or relationship. I have a habit of closing myself down and  not saying what I feel, or not being able to get my feelings across. I need to slow down, gather my thoughts, and get my feelings across more effectively.

14. Prioritize My Time Better

Make a to-do list sometimes. I want to start planning out my days and doing what I say I’m going to do, when I say I’m going to do it.

15. Tell People How Much I Appreciate Them

Not everyone will be here forever. I need to tell everyone around me what they mean to me while they’re still around. Like I said before, I’ve never been the most emotionally present individual when it comes to family things, but I want to try and let them know how much I do appreciate everything they do for me.

16. Love Better and Fully

It’s the best and only way.

17. Reconnect with God

I want to get back into church, and go more often. I let my faith be my last priority, when I know it should be first. When I focus on my religious relationship, I am much happier and feel much better. I need to remember this and keep it in mind.

18. Stop Relying on Medications

Plant based products are always better. I want to stop relying on prescription or over the counter medications, and find natural alternatives.

19. Be Happy

I deserve it. In everything, I need to focus on what will make me the happiest. I think that’s a goal everyone should have.

Leave a Reply

